Hi, this is Vy from Phuket again. One day after the tsunami swamped over Phuket, things turned out to be chaos. The toll of deaths and loss is still recording and thousands bodies still cover the area. I just have an interview with a 9-year-old Karl Nilsson, the little boy was on the holiday with his family and he has faced with a logistical nightmare in over the last hours. 

 

Everything just happened was a nightmare. Thats no words could describe how terrible it was. After a few minutes, the beautiful Phuket has been displaced by a terrible place like the Hiroshima after atomic bombs. 

I was still sleeping with my parents and 2 brothers. We didn’t feel the earthquake, actually it was bouncing a little but me and my family didn’t noticed about it. There was no warning at all. 

I heard people shouting outside “tsunami,tsunami” outside the windows. But it seemed too late for my family to evacuate at the right time. Then the huge-terrible waves started to attacking the windows, I was panic and neither my family. 

The glass shattered everywhere, we were trying to get out as soon as possible. I felt like I was drowning, I couldn’t feel anything because the water was over my neck. I didn’t know what was happened to my family too.. Mommy was screaming for help, brothers were crying. Luckily, I swam out of the room, forcing my way through the furnitures and up to the tree. Everything was collapse, the tree was breaking down and I was thrust back into the giant waves. I had to try a lot to keep my head above the water, I was hang on to the big branch and that was kept me survive. 

After the shocks. 

Finally I was survived. But my family? I had no ideas at all. 

Absolute devastation. The scene around was one of total and absolute devastation. People were desperate  for foods. People were waiting for the rescues. I was looking for my family. 

People were all in shock. The smell of bodies was extremely pungent. 

Everything was collapsed and destroyed. It was the end. I lost everything. 

 ……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

Everyone (including Karl) has a sad story with loss and despair.

